2015 Annual Literacy Leaders Awards Announced

Columbia, S.C. – The 9th Annual Literacy Leaders Awardswill be presented by the USC School of Library and Information Science (SLIS) tonight at the South Carolina Center for Children’s Books and Literacy, 1430 Senate Street, Columbia.  The awards go to individuals and/or groups that have had a statewide impact on literacy in South Carolina. Their contributions include:

  • Developing and implementing innovative and creative approaches to literacy education
  • Establishing models of best practices in literacy education
  • Providing service to underserved groups and communities
  • Providing funding and support for these kinds of programs
  • Making other statewide contributions deemed appropriate by the Committee
2015 Literacy Leaders
Joe Keeton
Mr. Keeton, formerly of Follett Library Resources, is a school library and literacy advocate.
StartSMART is a unique partnership between Florence School District 1, The School Foundation and the Start SMART Advisory Council.
Tutor Eau Claire
Tutor Eau Claire, the literacy outreach of Eau Claire Shalom Ministries, has provided affordable tutoring for dyslexic children and adults in Columbia, SC, since 2000.
The Peggy Parish Prize
The Peggy Parish Prize honors individuals who have made a personal impact that increases child literacy in South Carolina. Two Prizes of $500 each will be awarded tonight.
Successful recipients will demonstrate their impact through activities such as:
  • Implementing or expanding innovative programs or approaches to increase literacy in children
  • Encouraging a child’s love of reading through the involvement of a parent or caregiver
  • Establishing or expanding programs for under-served community groups to increase child literacy
  • Creating programs that successfully use Peggy Parish’s notion of an “open window” time frame to encourage reading in children
This prize is being offered in Peggy Parish’s memory, to honor those who demonstrate the imagination, creativity and energy to help the children of South Carolina become life-long readers.
Peggy Parish Prize Winners
Julie Bascom
Ms. Bascom is the Youth Services Manager for the Hilton Head Branch of the Beaufort County Library.
Vicky Culbertson
Ms. Culbertson is a certified reading specialist and school librarian in Laurens County.
Source: S.C. State Library
About the S.C. State Library
The South Carolina State Library develops, supports, and sustains a thriving statewide community of learners committed to making South Carolina stronger. The Library serves the people of South Carolina by supporting state government and libraries to provide opportunities for learning in a changing environment. It is the primary administrator of federal and state support for the state’s libraries. In 1969, as the result of action by the General Assembly, the State Library Board was redesignated as the South Carolina State Library and assumed responsibility for public library development, library service for state institutions, service for the blind and physically handicapped, and library service to state government agencies. Headquartered in Columbia, S.C., the Library is funded by the state of South Carolina, by the federal government through the Institute of Museum and Library Services, and other sources.  For more information, please visit www.statelibrary.sc.gov or call 803-734-8666.